I Love My Baby’s Puddin’: Recession Special Dessert!

Not sure about ya’ll, but I don’t mess around when it comes to dessert.  A little sweet at the end of a meal makes my troubles melt away (if only for an instant), even when times are tough. It is in this spirit that I bring you my first ever recession special Cookin’ dessert- BREAD PUDDIN’, made from things you have around your house.  Check out the episode, make the puddin’, and leave your comments.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:

4 large eggs

3/4 cup sugar

2 tsp. vanilla

1 tsp. cinnamon

4 tbsp. unsalted butter, melted and cooled

4 cups half & half, milk or combination of the two

9 cups bread cubes (combination of any of the following: white, french, challah, cinnamon raisin, croissant, brioche)

Personalize:

*One cup of any of the following mix-ins or a combination thereof can be added: raisins, berries, chopped apple, chocolate chips, banana.

*Two and a half tbsp of rum or whiskey can replace the equivalent amount in milk/cream.

1. Start by tearing up the bread into cubes.  In a separate bowl, mix together the rest of the ingredients to make your custard.  Use an electric mixer if you have one, but it isn’t required.

2. Lightly grease your bread puddin pan (9x13x2 inch is preferable, but use what you’ve got!).  Place your bread cubes in the pan and ladle in the custard, filling to the top.  Let the puddin’ sit in the fridge for at least a half hour or as long as overnight.

3. Preheat the oven to 300 degrees and prepare your water bath (place the puddin’ pan in a larger pan and fill up halfway with boiling water).  Bake puddin’ in water bath for an hour or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean and no custard is bubbling up from the middle.  If it isn’t ready after an hour, remove from water bath and bake another 10-20 minutes.

4.  Remove from oven and let cool before you cut it.  Serve bread puddin’ with whipped cream, ice cream, or a dash of confectioners sugar on top.  Pairs well with tea and coffee.  Instant sorry relief!

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “I Love My Baby’s Puddin’: Recession Special Dessert!

  1. Glick!

    i want a new job as a pudding historian.

  2. Joely

    Mmmmm…I can’t wait to try making it! I’ve been wanting to make some bread pudding for a while…you read my mind!

  3. Ivan Brugere

    I think this can be veganized; my gut says to do it with egg replacer + silken tofu (considering the volume of eggs), and standard on the other replacements.

    Keep up the good work.

  4. Well now I’m hungry. Thanks. 🙂

    Awesome simple recipe. I think we should make this for the next meeting/L word partay.

  5. Ek

    I’m soooo impressed! Can’t wait for you to make this recipe for me, I mean to make this recipe

  6. You know I love the show. Plus, I loved the puddin’. I want to be a dessert historian.

    Beautifully shot and edited, might I say…

    Bacon, eggs, toast, butter…

  7. Sarah W

    Allo allo! I love your show… are you still baking Challah by the way?

  8. Love the music on this one.
    And the cat.

  9. RayDiddy

    Hello from Buenos Aires! This recipe is amazing! We are in mega-recession here too! I cant wait to introduce this como se dice “bread pudding” into the local cuisine! I will try and substitute medialunas for the bread as this is what we eat most here. When will the cookin’ show become a travel cookin’ show?? We could use some good food over here!!

  10. Justin

    Malaysian.

  11. Price

    Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    Who Else Wants To Discover A Rebel Psychiatrist’s Amazing Secret That Lets You Put People Under Your Control Quickly & Easily and Get Them to Do Anything You Want?

Leave a Reply

